What Are Violin Skill Levels?

The study of most 'classical' instuments is divided into
10 Grade Levels.

Level 1 Beginner
Levels 2-3  Elementary
Levels 4-6 Junior
Levels 7-8 Intermediate
Levels 9-10 Advanced

These are very broad designations, and refer to technical skills and the complexity of the repertoire.
These levels to do not take into account: musicianship, pitch discrimination, talent, committment, or other less quantifiable aspect of evaluating progress.

Please note: different Schools & Conservatories have wildly varying ideas of what skills define a Grade Level. Therefore, take the above designations as very approximate.

We hope that this is helpful.


 Return to... Skill Levels

Home Page
Celtic Airs
Fiddle Trios
Wedding &Receptions
Rags & Tango & FolkSong